Start your Illinois divorce online
- Determine your eligibility
- Complete the online interview
- Get your ready-to-sign divorce forms
Do you qualify?
Please answer the following and click the «Continue» button.
Laura A. Wasser
Laura Wasser is a Family Law Attorney with over 20 years of experience. Having handled a number of high-profile, high-net-worth divorce cases, Laura Wasser and her team have developed an intuitive and simple process for uncontested divorces available to everyone.
Illinois Divorce Overview
In order to file for divorce in the State of Illinois, the filing spouse must have resided in the state for at least 90 days.
Effective 2016, the only ground for divorce in Illinois, is irreconcilable differences with the parties having lived separate and apart for a period of 6 months or longer.
In the State of Illinois, the parties may agree to either joint or sole legal and physical custody of their children. Legal custody gives a parent the right to participate in decision-making involving the children. The court may award either joint or sole legal custody in a contested dissolution. The court will also determine physical custody arrangements.
The court shall determine custody in accordance with the best interests of the child, keeping the wishes of the child’s parent and the child in mind. The court also takes into consideration the bond between the parent, child and any siblings, as well as the child’s adjustment to home and school, and the mental and physical health of all parties involved.
Illinois’ child support guidelines apply in virtually every case, unless special circumstances are present. Both parties gross incomes and certain child related expenses are taken into consideration when calculating child support. Child support will continue until the child reaches eighteen years of age, or until the child graduates from high school, whichever occurs later, and may be extended through secondary education.
The divorce should be filed in the county where either the petitioner or the respondent resides.
Mediation is strongly encouraged in the State of Illinois.
Court filing fees are in addition to the cost of using it's over easy. This cost may vary by county. Please check with your local courthouse to determine the exact amount.
We are not sure what state to divorce in, what should we do?
Please click the state information tab above to review your state’s residency requirements. If you are in need of a different state, return to the homepage and choose it there.
How do I file after receiving my divorce forms?
If you are in a state or county where we cannot file for our clients, in addition to your completed divorce forms, we also provide detailed signing and filing instructions to help remove all potential questions on your end.
Can I use this service if I have children?
Yes you can. Our online interview factors in this possibility and you will be directed to specific questions accordingly. We also provide child support calculators and parenting plans.
has been featured on